Prayer For An Expectant Faith

Lord Jesus, my faith is so weak. I come to you today asking for the gift of an expectant faith so I may believe in your great mercy and love. I know You are the same, yesterday, today and forever. I know that You healed all who came to You when You were alive. So I also know that You still heal people today.
I thank You for the many ways You personally touch and heal us. I thank You for the healing provided in the sacraments especially the Blessed Sacrament, the Eucharist. I know in my head that You are present in the Eucharist. I ask today for the gift of heart knowledge of Your loving presence in the Eucharist. You are there waiting for me every day to come and receive You in faith. You long for me to come to You and bring my needs and problems to You. All of the power that fed the 5000, that healed the paralytic and created the universe is there waiting for me. I know this in my head but not my heart. I beg You to touch my heart, strengthen my faith. Help me to believe and understand that Your love for me is beyond my imagination, that You want what is best for me. That Your mercy is beyond comprehension. It doesn’t matter that I’m not worthy, that I am a sinner. You love me as I am. You created me out of love and died to pay for my sins. My sins are forgiven as soon as I confessed them. Help me to understand that it isn’t my worthiness that matters but Your awesome love and mercy. This is so beyond my understanding that I need your grace to believe and to accept your love.
I block your power in so many ways. I feel unworthy, or fail to confess my sins especially my pride. Too often I am too proud to come to You for help. I foolishly try to handle things on my own. I block Your power with my resentments and unforgiveness. I forget that I am to forgive others as You have forgiven me. I don’t focus on You and the prayers of the mass but on who’s there, what they’re wearing or who didn’t say hello. I do everything but adore and worship You.
Too often I limit Your power with my lack of belief. I put You in a box of God doesn’t … and forget that the hand and power that holds the universe together is present in the Eucharist. I forget that You love me more than I love my children, parents or spouse. I need Your grace, Lord, to put aside all the distractions and focus on You and Your awesome, incredible, inconceivable, incomprehensible love for me. I need Your grace to believe in the awesome power You provide in the Eucharist. I need Your grace to believe that You care about every aspect of my life.. I need Your grace to repent and put aside the pride that keeps me from coming to You in humility. I need Your grace to trust in You. I need Your grace to forgive others as You have forgiven me and leave behind all my resentments and unforgiveness. I can’t do these things on our own. I am too weak so I come to you and trust in Your mercy. I know that with You all things are possible. I ask these things in Your holy name, Jesus Amen.

Author: ronquinlan

To me the message is what is important. Feel free to copy and use anything on this blog. Some pieces were originally published by Catholic Lane so please give them credit. I am a charismatic Roman Catholic and former Social Studies teacher in Catholic Schools. Pieces I've written have been published on Catholi Lane, Catholic Exchange and the Women of Grace blog.

Leave a Reply

