Here I Am

There’s a worship song I heard on Christian radio by either Chris Tomlins or Third Day, Here I Am To Worship. I can’t get the lyrics out of my head but I don’t even know the whole song just the chorus I think. It goes like this “Here I am to worship, Here I am to bow down, Here I am to say that You’re my God. You’re altogether lovely, altogether worthy, altogether wonderful to me. I’ll never know how much it cost to see my sins upon that cross…”
That’s all I remember but I find the words running through my mind so often. There are times I wake up with the lyrics running through my mind. Often the words run through my mind as I walk into Church or up the aisle to communion. There are times I sing it interiorly during adoration. As I think about it what an awesome song to use to place yourself in the presence of the Lord, just to stop and say here I am, Lord throughout the day just for a few minutes to connect with Jesus.
The words,” here I am” are so powerful in prayer that I find myself using them so often. They have been part of our faith for so long. I believe it was Isaiah who responded to the question of the Lord who will I send, here I am, send me. Both Moses and Abraham are recorded in scripture as saying to God here I am. There are so many different contexts we can pray these three simple words.
Here I am Lord, before You in the Tabernacle to be with You. Here I am in my brokenness with all my weaknesses and sins but I’m here. I’ve come to be with You, to worship You, to comfort You, to console You. I may not be much. I may only be a broken sinner but here I am.
In the Garden You were so alone. You saw before You all the sins of mankind. You saw the indifference of mankind so caught up in the things of the world so busy. You saw the billions who would ignore You and reject Your love. This agony was so terrible that you sweat blood. Nobody cared to console or comfort You. I wasn’t there. I couldn’t be there but here I am now, reaching across time. I long to comfort You, to reach out to You. I don’t know what else to say but here I am, I love You, thank You.
You are so alone. The church is empty. Everyone is gone. How sad and lonely for You but here I am. Here I am to be with You, just to be with You and to love You.
My life is a mess. I’m confused. I don’t know what to do or even how to pray. I don’t even know what to pray for but here I am to be with You. Here I am with my confusion, with my doubts, with my fears, with my worries, and with my problems. Here I am in Your presence. Here I am seeking Your help, Your mercy, Your guidance and love. Here I am, Lord. I need You!
The world is such a mess. There is so much hatred and violence and sin. You are asking for people to be Your hands and feet. You are asking for people to tell others of Your love and mercy. You are asking who will bring Your love to the hurting around us, who will reach out to the lost, here I am.
You are asking for people of prayer. You are asking people to pray for the conversion of sinners, to pray for revival, to pray for vocations. Here I am.

Here I am. I need You. Here I am. I long to know and do Your will. Here I am. I long to serve You. Here I am. I long to be with You. Here I am. I want to spend time with You. Here I am, I long to comfort and console You. Here I am to adore You. Here I am to love You. Here I am to praise You. Here I am to thank You. “Here I am to worship, here I am to bow down, here I am to say that You’re my God…”

Author: ronquinlan

To me the message is what is important. Feel free to copy and use anything on this blog. Some pieces were originally published by Catholic Lane so please give them credit. I am a charismatic Roman Catholic and former Social Studies teacher in Catholic Schools. Pieces I've written have been published on Catholi Lane, Catholic Exchange and the Women of Grace blog.

Leave a Reply

