All That Matters

When it comes down to it the most important thing to remember is that it is the love of God that really matters. We can get caught up in so many things. We can worry about the proper way to pray. We can search for the perfect prayer as if it is a magical formula. We can worry about the proper position to pray in.
There are so many things that we get hung up on. We criticize people for the way they pray or the way they dress for church. We can argue about the style of music. We can fight over when to stand or sit at mass. We can disagree over receiving communion in the hand. A lot of people seem to waste time and energy on issues like this.
What really matters is that God loves us that He sent His Son to die for us. He loved us so much that He created the Eucharist in order to be with us. All the power that created the universe is present in the Eucharist. The God of Love wants us to come to Him with all our needs. The God of Love wants us to trust Him. He waits for us to come to Him in the Eucharist. All we have to do is respond to this incredible love. That is all that really matters.
God loves us with an infinite love beyond our imagination. He knows and wants what is best for us. He waits in the Tabernacle to bless us. Jesus who loves us is present in the Eucharist and wants to do what is best for us. He should be our focus not our egos, not our formulas, not our concepts of how one should dress or pray.
Jesus is all that matters. He loves us and we need to open ourselves to His love so that He can give us what we need most. Nothing else matters but learning to open ourselves up to His love more and more each day. We need to learn to surrender ourselves and allow Him to change us from the inside.
What else could really matter as much as the love of God for us as individuals? Nothing we’ve done in our past or will do can separate us from His love. There is nothing we can do to earn His love. He loves us because He is Love. Love is His nature.
We can accept that Love or reject it. For most of us life is a battle or journey where we gradually, painfully learn to open ourselves us to accepting the gift of His love. Too often we try to earn it or hang back in shame rather than opening ourselves totally and completely to His love. We hang back in fear keeping our hearts open only a little rather than letting the floodgates of His grace change us.
Open your hearts to the greatest love there is. Ask for the grace to open your heart totally. Ask for the grace to trust Him totally. Ask for the grace to respond to His Love. That is what life is really about. Do this and you will experience blessings you can’t even imagine.
We can read a million books on faith, religion and God. We can go to conference after conference. We can listen to tape after tape. We can spend our lives learning fact after fact but in the end all we really need to know and share with people is the love of God. It is that love that saves us. All we have to do is open ourselves up and accept His love, allowing Him to change us.

Jesus, I believe that You love me more than I love myself, more than anything that I can imagine. I believe that Your love for me is infinite, beyond comprehension, limitless. I believe that You know and want what is best for me, that you want to pour your love and blessings upon me.
I believe that You loved me enough to die for me. I believe that You would have endured the entire Passion just for me out of love. I believe that You have forgiven all my sins and that I can come to You at anytime in confession and receive Your awesome mercy.
I believe that You are present in the most holy Eucharist, that You created the Eucharist out of love, that the Eucharist is love itself, that You wait in the Eucharist to pour out your love upon me.
I believe but help my unbelief. Help me to believe in my heart, not just my head. Strengthen my faith in Your awesome love for me. Help me to open my heart to Your love. Help me to put aside all that may block my receiving the love and blessings You want to give me.
Help me to let go of my past, of any sins or mistakes for which I keep beating myself up. Help me to let go of any sense of unworthiness and remember that it is your love not my worthiness that matters.
Help me to let go of all pride, the false sense that I have to earn Your love, that I have to do things on my own. Help me to turn to You.
Help me to let go of all fear and doubt. Help me to totally put my trust in Your awesome goodness, love and mercy.
I want to be totally open to You, Jesus. I want You to come into my heart and heal the wounds of my past. I want You to help me to forgive all those who’ve hurt me. I want You to change me from the inside, to help me let go of all the anger, resentments, to let go of the pride and independence, anything that keeps me apart from you.
I want to know You, personally. I want an intimate relationship with You. I want to see You each time I receive You. I want to feel Your presence, Your love in my heart. I want to hear Your voice. I want You to guide me with every decision I make. I want You to take charge of my life. I want You to truly be my Lord and Savior. I don’t want to live my life anymore. I want to live Your life. I want to serve You, to be Your hands and feet. I want to receive Your love and bring it to those around me. Help me to do so.
Come into my heart and change me into the person You created me to be. Fill me with Your love. Free me of all fear and doubt and help me to trust You with everything, my health, family, finances, career, relationships, everything.
Help me Jesus, draw me close to You. Let me live in Your heart. Fill me with You. Take charge of my life. I surrender all to You and Your incredible love. Amen

Author: ronquinlan

To me the message is what is important. Feel free to copy and use anything on this blog. Some pieces were originally published by Catholic Lane so please give them credit. I am a charismatic Roman Catholic and former Social Studies teacher in Catholic Schools. Pieces I've written have been published on Catholi Lane, Catholic Exchange and the Women of Grace blog.

Leave a Reply

