A Question of Trust

A Question of Trust

Probably the biggest question for most of us in our faith lives is do we really trust the Lord in our hearts. Do we really believe that He is in control, that His plan for us is good and that in all things He works for the good of those who love Him? If we really did would we ever be afraid?
If God is in control why are we afraid? We are afraid a lot. Fear hits every time we see another negative article about the economy. Our heart jumps every time we see the price of gas rise. We get frightened by acts of terrorism and rumors on the Internet. Even a weather forecast strikes fear in some. Too often we live our whole lives in fear of something bad happening.
But we are called to trust in a loving God who knows what is best for us. Unfortunately most of us don’t trust Him enough to wait on his perfect timing. We do things on our own and then wonder why God didn’t take care of us. One reason is we didn’t put our situation in God’s hands.
This was published in the Winter 2013 edition of Wellsprings, the newsletter of the SC Charismatic Conference.
Do we ever apply for a job and pray Lord, You know what is best. You know if this job will be good for me. I put it in Your hands and ask You to give me this job if it fits Your plans. Otherwise I don’t want it. How often do we pray like that? How often do we get turned down for a job and thank the Lord that He has a better job waiting for us?
How often do we pray? Lord, You know what my bills are, what the insurance will cost, how much it will cost to fix the car. You know every thing. I’m not going to worry about them. I’m going to trust You to provide the money I need whether through a new job or extra hours at work. Jesus, I trust in You.
How often do we start to worry when we see a headline and stop and say Lord, I place this situation in Your hands, and I trust You to do what is best? How often do we start to worry and turn the situation over to the Lord? Or do we dwell on the possibility that we might lose our job, our car might breakdown, our bank collapse or some other disaster happen to us?
Do we even trust the Lord enough to believe that He is guiding us spiritually? Do we walk into confession, see the priest and feel that this is exactly the priest you should be confessing to at this time? Do we trust in parishes with only one priest that the day we pick for confession is the day the Lord has prepared the priest to hear it? Maybe this day Father has some insight he wouldn’t have had last week. Maybe this day Father has little to say and it happens to be a day you really just need to confess and get out.
Do we trust the Lord to believe that even through priests we may dislike the Lord will speak to us? Do we expect the Lord to say at least one thing we need to hear in every homily or mass? Do we question why Father is assigned to our parish? What was the Lord thinking or do we trust that the Lord is in control and has something to teach us through this priest?
Do we ever stop and think there must be a reason for this to happen to me, that God has brought me to this parish on this day for a purpose? Do you ever run across a book by accident and feel that God wants you to read it? Do we really believe that God is directing our lives that He is working for our good and can use anything in our lives for good?
Do we trust the Lord with the salvation of our family members? Do we pray in faith believing that He will work it out in His time or do we pray frantically in desperation?
If you look back at your life you might be amazed at how often little miracles occurred, a check or job at just the right moment, the song on the radio that you needed to hear, running into just the right person on the street or at the mall. I’m amazed at how often in my life I had just the right priest for confession, not the one I wanted but the one I needed. There was a priest at a shrine in Jersey whose normal confessions ran over a half hour. I was rarely happy to see him when I walked in and usually glad I had him when I walked out. I remember getting a complete stranger just when I wanted one.
The same thing has happened with books in my life. I would run across the exact book I needed for prayer at just the right time. I remember finding in my basement the Islands in the Stream devotional, just when I needed it. This year I’m reading God Calling. This is a book I bought years ago and found this January when I most needed it. Day after day the meditation is exactly what I needed to hear.
How often have you read something or hear a song just at the right time? How often have you gotten one of those emails at just the right time? How often have you gotten a phone call just when you needed it?
How often does it tell us in Scripture that God knows what we need? He knows before we even know ourselves and promises to provide what we need but we need to trust Him and stop worrying. We trust Him. We stop worrying. That doesn’t meant we sit home unemployed waiting for God to give us a job. We apply for jobs but we do it honestly without padding our resume or compromising our principles and trust Him to do what is best.

Author: ronquinlan

To me the message is what is important. Feel free to copy and use anything on this blog. Some pieces were originally published by Catholic Lane so please give them credit. I am a charismatic Roman Catholic and former Social Studies teacher in Catholic Schools. Pieces I've written have been published on Catholi Lane, Catholic Exchange and the Women of Grace blog.

Leave a Reply

