Why I Pray With People for Healing!

Over the last 14 years I must have prayed with people for healing at least a thousand times. It isn’t that I think I’m something special, that I claim the gift of healing. What it is that in front of me is someone who is hurting in some way, one of God’s beloved children. I know that if my heart aches for them, if I feel their pain then Jesus’ heart aches even more. He longs to bless them, to draw them closer to Him, to comfort and console them. I happen to be the person He has put into position so that He can reach out and bless them. I’m the one in a position to be used by Him so I volunteer to pray with people.
I never feel adequate. It is never about me but always about His love, mercy and power. It is all on Him. All I do is offer to pray. Pray first in English reminding the person I’m praying over of God’s love, mercy and promises; then I pray in tongues until power goes out of me. I never know what God does, whether he blessed the person spiritually, emotionally or physically, not until later. I only know that He did something good, that He blessed the person I prayed with in some way.
Sometimes I find out later what God has done. There have been operations that went better than doctors had a right to expect, operations that never happened, and people who recovered better or quicker than expected, sometimes people have received the grace to forgive people. It is all in God’s hands. I don’t worry about it. My job is only to reach out with the love of Jesus and pray. This is what we as Christians are called to do.

Author: ronquinlan

To me the message is what is important. Feel free to copy and use anything on this blog. Some pieces were originally published by Catholic Lane so please give them credit. I am a charismatic Roman Catholic and former Social Studies teacher in Catholic Schools. Pieces I've written have been published on Catholi Lane, Catholic Exchange and the Women of Grace blog.

Leave a Reply

