Addicted to Jesus or Why I Dread the Parish Mission

I’m probably the last person people would expect to say they dread the parish mission. I have been to some awesome mission talks at the night sessions but as a working person mission priests make attending daily mass pure torture. I remember one mission where I was unable to receive for 3 days. You see the most important part of the mass is not the homily but receiving Jesus in the Eucharist. It is pure torture to sit there during a homily as the minutes roll by and it becomes uncertain if you will be able to receive that day. There are times I want to yell stop already, give me Jesus.
Do we have to go over the directions for the mission over and over before beginning mass? Can they not wait until after people have received Communion so that those who work can go? I wonder if you really understand the Eucharist and why people receive Communion at daily mass.
It is much more than a ritual to me, more than gaining grace for eternity. Jesus came so we might have life and have it abundantly. He longs to pour grace upon us, not just grace for eternal life but also the graces we need to cope with in our daily life.
It is in the daily Eucharist that I received the grace I needed to take care of my mom the last year of her life. It is in the Eucharist that I received the grace to handle the stress of walking into a home not knowing if the person I will be taking care of will be dead or alive. It is in Communion that I received the grace to cope with watching people I’m close to deteriorate day after day.
The Blessed Sacrament was the source of the patience I needed to teach junior high, to cope with demanding principals and bosses. It gave me the grace I needed to work in customer service and deal with irate customers and also to deal with the drudgery of retail work.
Working people need the Eucharist. It is not a luxury, something nice to do but a very real need for the grace to cope with the demands of modern life.
Jesus wants to be received in the Eucharist. He wants to pour out His love and grace upon His people. He wants to meet people where they are and bless them. He longs for them to come to Him. It is a part of the reason He created the Eucharist.
It is difficult enough to work and attend daily mass. Very few bosses care about our spiritual lives. Please give me Jesus and save all of the unnecessary directions and comments for the end of the mass.

Author: ronquinlan

To me the message is what is important. Feel free to copy and use anything on this blog. Some pieces were originally published by Catholic Lane so please give them credit. I am a charismatic Roman Catholic and former Social Studies teacher in Catholic Schools. Pieces I've written have been published on Catholi Lane, Catholic Exchange and the Women of Grace blog.

Leave a Reply

