Take a Risk and Pray With People

Take a Risk and Pray With People

How many times have you listened to someone who was ill and wished you could do more than just offer to pray? Doesn’t it hurt to see people suffer and feel powerless to do anything about it? Don’t you wish you knew someone who could pray effectively for healing like the early Christians in the book of Acts?
How do you know that you aren’t that person, that you don’t have a gift for healing if you never step out in faith and try? Maybe you ask yourself, who am I to pray with someone for healing. I’m nobody special. But you are! By your Baptism you are a child of God, a temple of the Holy Spirit, an adopted son of the Father. You are beloved by God and if Catholic powered by Jesus in His Eucharist. You are a follower and disciple of Jesus Christ, called by God to touch others with His love. In many ways we are just like the early Christians.
We received in Baptism and Confirmation the same Holy Spirit that they received. We have the Holy Spirit within us. It doesn’t matter how qualified we feel or how little training we’ve had or what we think we can do. It is not about us but who God is and what He wants to do through us. It is about His love for those who are hurting. All we are is His instruments.
We don’t have to be highly trained or know the right words. There is no magic formula or secret. All we have to be is willing to let God use us and pray in love, doing the best we can. God does all the rest.
It took me a year as a charismatic before I prayed over someone. Our prayer group offered a monthly healing mass with prayer teams available after mass. When Father told me I was partner with Michael I assumed he knew something I didn’t know. That experience led me to read everything I could find on healing prayer.
What did I learn? Always to point to Jesus He is the healer. All I am is His instrument. My job simply is to remind people of who He is, how much He loves them and longs to bless them. As often as possible I point to Jesus in the Eucharist, thank Him for His love, for being a God of Hope for being the same yesterday, today and forever and pray that they be totally open to the graces He wants to pour upon them in the Eucharist. It isn’t about me but Jesus in the Eucharist. How could He fail to do what is best?
Over the years I’ve prayed with people more than a thousand times. If someone is hurting we are called to respond. Jesus wants to reach out to the hurting through us. All we have to do is say yes and allow Him to use us. If we do we will see Him do amazing things. Step out in faith and trust Jesus to do the rest.

Author: ronquinlan

To me the message is what is important. Feel free to copy and use anything on this blog. Some pieces were originally published by Catholic Lane so please give them credit. I am a charismatic Roman Catholic and former Social Studies teacher in Catholic Schools. Pieces I've written have been published on Catholi Lane, Catholic Exchange and the Women of Grace blog.

Leave a Reply

