Why Do We Believe Politicians?

I went to college during the Vietnam War. As a high school senior I believed everything our government said about defending democracy in Vietnam. One of the first persons I met in college was a Vietnam vet who had served in Vietnam. From him and other vets I learned that the government of S. Vietnam was not a democracy. This fact was confirmed in a book later written by the former vice-president of S. Vietnam, Ky. S. Vietnam was never a democracy.
This taught me to question what politicians say and to dig for the truth. As a high school social studies teacher I taught American history from both sides presenting both sides of an issue and challenging my students to analyze the facts presented by both sides, made up their own minds and defend their position.
If high school students can do this why can’t we? Why do we fall for every lie a politician or political organization gives?
We need to stop accepting whatever politicians and other groups say. With the Internet it is easy to check what they say, to find multiple viewpoints. Otherwise we deserve the government we end up with.

Author: ronquinlan

To me the message is what is important. Feel free to copy and use anything on this blog. Some pieces were originally published by Catholic Lane so please give them credit. I am a charismatic Roman Catholic and former Social Studies teacher in Catholic Schools. Pieces I've written have been published on Catholi Lane, Catholic Exchange and the Women of Grace blog.

Leave a Reply

