An Open Letter To Hillary From One Of The Deplorables

An Open Letter To Hillary From One Of The Deplorables
Dear Hillary:
I am one of those people you called deplorable, bigots, homophobic, women hating, gun nuts just because we oppose you and support Trump.
First off I am none of those things. I spent my life working in the Inner-City and volunteering in Appalachia. As a U. S. history teacher I incorporated both African American history and women’s history into the curriculum. Ernest Green, John Lewis and Diane Nash are among my heroes. As a Catholic living alone in Eastern Kentucky in 1973 I know what it is like to experience prejudice. I am hardly a bigot and the last time I ever fired a gun I was in ROTC in 1969.
I grew up a democrat. I actually carried a sign for Adlai Stevenson at the end of my driveway on Election Day, 1956, heard JFK speak in 1960 and cast my first presidential vote for George McGovern. I’ve voted for Carter, Ted Kennedy, Jesse Jackson, Mondale, Dukakis and your husband.
It was not until your husband vetoed the partial birth abortion ban did I stop voting for democrats. Up until then I believed that it really didn’t matter since both parties basically paid lip service to their positions on abortion and did nothing. After all it was a republican who appointed Sandra Day O’Connor and David Souter to the Supreme Court.
I didn’t actually vote for a republican candidate until the 2008 primary season when you and the president argued about who was the most pro-abortion as if it was a good thing.
I support Trump as the lesser of 2 evils, not because he is such a great candidate. In fact I voted for Kasich in the primary. I wish I could vote for you but not with your abortion policies.
There are a great many problems facing this country. More than a good president we need the help of God. I believe that as long as we continue to slaughter babies, to push abortion overseas and force innocent people to support abortion through federal funding God will not bless this country.
If that makes me a bigot, a deplorable whatever you want to call me so be it. At least when I face God He won’t call me a killer of the innocent.
Dear Hillary, I am one of those people you called deplorable, bigots, homophobic, women hating, gun nuts just because we oppose you and support Trump.
First off I am none of those things. I spent my life working in the Inner-City and volunteering in Appalachia. As a U. S. history teacher I incorporated both African-American history and women’s history into the curriculum. Ernest Green, John Lewis and Diane Nash are among my heroes. As a Catholic living alone in Eastern Kentucky in 1973 I know what it is like to experience prejudice. I am hardly a bigot and the last time I ever fired a gun I was in ROTC in 1969.
I grew up a democrat. I actually carried a sign for Adlai Stevenson at the end of my driveway on Election Day, 1956, heard JFK speak in 1960 and cast my first presidential vote for George McGovern. I’ve voted for Carter, Ted Kennedy, Jesse Jackson, Mondale, Dukakis and your husband.
It was not until your husband vetoed the partial birth abortion ban did I stop voting for democrats. Up until then I believed that it really didn’t matter since both parties basically paid lip service to their positions on abortion and did nothing. After all it was a republican who appointed Sandra Day O’Connor and David Souter to the Supreme Court.
I didn’t actually vote for a republican candidate until the 2008 primary season when you and the president argued about who was the most pro-abortion as if it was a good thing.
I support Trump as the lesser of 2 evils, not because he is such a great candidate. In fact I voted for Kasich in the primary. I wish I could vote for you but not with your abortion policies.
There are a great many problems facing this country. More than a good president we need the help of God. I believe that as long as we continue to slaughter babies, to push abortion overseas and force innocent people to support abortion through federal funding God will not bless this country.
If that makes me a bigot, a deplorable whatever you want to call me so be it. At least when I face God He won’t call me a killer of the innocent.

Author: ronquinlan

To me the message is what is important. Feel free to copy and use anything on this blog. Some pieces were originally published by Catholic Lane so please give them credit. I am a charismatic Roman Catholic and former Social Studies teacher in Catholic Schools. Pieces I've written have been published on Catholi Lane, Catholic Exchange and the Women of Grace blog.

Leave a Reply

